France wins first Men’s CEV Championship

For the first time in history, reigning World League Champion France wins the Men’s European Volleyball Championship, beating first time finalist Slovenia in the finale, 25-19, 29-27, 29-27.

Antonin Rouzier, who was declared Most Valuable Player,  registered 21 points, with a 66% attacking efficiency, for the victors. Teammate and Second Best Outside Hitter Earvin Ngapeth shared 15 points of his own, all coming from attacks.

Mitja Gasparini and Best Outside Hitter Tine Urnaut‘s 14 markers each were not enough for the Slovenes to get the victory, as no other from their team scored in double digits.

Meanwhile, Italy captured the Bronze medal, defeating co-host Bulgaria in four sets, 25-20, 25-14, 23-25, 25-20.

Best Opposite Spiker Ivan Zaytsev and Osmany Juantorena scored 26 and 17 points, respectively, for the Italians. While Bulagrian Nikolay Uchikov tallied 15 for his squad.



Most Valuable Player Antonin Rouzier (FRA)

Best Outside Hitters Tine Urnaut (SLO) and Earvin Ngapeth (FRA)

Best Middle Blockers Teodor Todorov (BUL) and Viktor Yosifov (BUL)

Best Opposite Spiker Ivan Zaytsev (ITA)

Best Setter Simone Giannelli (ITA)

Best Libero Jenia Grebennikov (FRA)

Fair Play Award Vladimir Nikolov (BUL)

All due credits go to CEV for the photo


Argentina secures Olympic berth

Argentina topped the South America Olympic Qualification Tournament to book a ticket for the 2016 Rio Summer Olympics.

The competion also featured Chile, Colombia, and hosts Venezuela.

The victors swept the single-round robin tournament, including a hard-fought win over the Venezuelans in the last day of competition, 25-12, 22-25, 25-12, 25-27, 15-12.

The Ezequiel Palacios-led Argentinian quad now joins hosts Brazil, World Cup winner USA and runner-up Italy, to try to vie for the prestigious gold medal.

Runners-up Venezuela and Chile also earned their respective spot for the World Olympic Qualification Tournament which will be held in Japan.


Gold Argentina

Silver Venezuela

Bronze Chile

4th Colombia


Most Valuable Player Sebastian Gervert (CHI)

Best Outside Hitters Facundo Conte (ARG) and Ezequiel Palacios (ARG)

Best Middle Blockers Sebastián Solé (ARG) and Iván Márquez (VEN)

Best Opposite Spiker Kervin Pinerua (VEN)

Best Setter Luciano De Cecco (ARG)

Best Libero Facundo Santucci (ARG)

October 9, Friday
Argentina v Colombia 3-0 (25-13, 25-19, 25-13)
Chile v Venezuela 2-3 (18-25, 21-25, 25-20, 27-25)
October 10, Saturday
Argentina v Chile 3-0 (25-22, 25-17, 25-19)
Venezuela v Colombia 3-1 (25-19, 25-22, 23-25, 31-29)
October 11, Sunday
Colombia v Chile 2-3 (36-34, 20-25, 18-25, 30-28, 10-15)
Venezuela v Argentina 2-3 (25-12, 22-25, 25-12, 25-17, 15-12)

2015 Men’s European Volleyball Championship

The 29th edition of the Men’s European Volleyball Championship will be held from October 9 to 18 in Bulgaria and Italy.

16 participating teams will vie for the much coveted title.


Slovenia def. Netherlands 25-16, 25-19, 25-22

Serbia def. Estonia 21-25, 14-25, 25-8, 25-22, 15-13

Germany def. Belgium 25-16, 31-29, 25-17

Italy def. Finland 25-19, 25-16, 25-22


Slovenia def. Poland 25-17, 25-19, 23-23, 19-25, 16-14

France def. Serbia 25-22, 25-23, 14-25, 25-20

Bulgaria def. Germany 25-19, 25-23, 25-23

Italy def. Russia 25-20, 25-19, 25-19


Slovenia vs. Italy

Bulgaria vs. France

Brazil gets Men’s CSV Championship title

For the 25th straight year, Brazil National Men’s Team reigned supreme in the South American Championship, beating Argentina in the 2015 finals, 25-16, 25-19, 25-16.

On the other hand, Colombia snatches the bronze medal from Venezuela by winning in straight sets, 25-21, 27-25, 25-21.

In the 5th place match, Chile was able to overcome Uruguay, 25-19, 23-25, 25-16, 25-18. While Peru defeated Guyana to take the 7th spot, 25-19, 25-14, 25-17.

This is the Brazilians’ 30th title out of the 31 editions of the tournament.


Most Valuable Player Sérgio Santos (BRA)

Best Outside Hitters Rodrigo Quiroga (ARG) and Ronald Jímenez (COL)

Best Middle Blockers Facundo Imhoff (ARG) and Isac Santos (BRA)

Best Opposite Spikers Evandro Guerra (BRA)

Best Setter Bruno Rezende (BRA)

Best Libero Facundo Santucci (ARG)

Russia wins Women’s CEV Championship crown

Russia wins second-straight Women’s European Championship by beating host Netherlands in the finals, 25-14, 25-20, 25-20.

Twin towers Nataliya Obmochaeva and back to back MVP Tatiana Kosheleva chipped in 20 and 19 points apiece.

Lonneke Slöetjes and Celeste Plak gained 11 and 10 for the Dutch team.

On the other hand, World Cup runner-up Serbia outlasted Turkey to take away the bronze medal, 25-19, 25-17, 25-18.

Milena Rasić topscored the winners with 12 markers. Tijana Bošković and Brankica Mihajlović added 11 and 10 points, respectively.

Turkish Middle Blocker Kübra Akman registered a team-high eight points, six of which coming from blocks.


Most Valuable Player Tatiana Kosheleva (RUS)

Best Outside Hitters Tatiana Kosheleva (RUS) and Anne Buijs (NED)

Best Middle Blockers Irina Zaryazhko (RUS) and Eda Erdem Dündar (TUR)

Best Opposite Spiker Lonneke Slöetjes (NED)

Best Setter Maja Ognjenović (RUS)

Best Libero Anna Malova (RUS)

Fair Play Award Hans Nieukerke (NED)

Brazil bags Women’s CSV Championship title

World #2 Brazil wins 11th-straight Women’s South American Volleyball Championship crown, beating Peru in the finals, 25-17, 25-21, 25-13.

Meanwhile, Colombia outplayed Argentina in the battle-for-bronze medal in five grueling sets, 25-21, 26-24, 19-25, 23-25, 15-6.

In the 5th place match, Venezuela defeated Chile, 25-23, 25-17, 25-19. While Uruguay escaped Paraguay to take the 7th place, 25-13, 25-21, 25-21.


Most Valuable Player Gabriela Guimarães (BRA)

Best Outside Hitters Gabriela Gumarães (BRA) and Ángela Leyva (PER)

Best Middle Blockers Juciely Barreto (BRA) and Natalia Aizpurúa (ARG)

Best Opposite Spiker Carla Castiglione (ARG)

Best Setter María Alejandra Marín (COL)

Best Libero Camila Gómez (COL)

USA wins Women’s NORCECA Championship title

United States wins the 2015 Women’s NORCECA Continental Championship over archrival Dominican Republic, 25-19, 22-25, 25-18, 25-17.

Nicole Fawcett led the charge for the now three-peat champions USA team with 17 points, 15 of which coming from attacks. Jordan Larson-Burbach, Kelsey Robinson and Foluke Akinradewo added 13, 13 and 12 markers for the victors.

On the other hand, Brayelin Martinez chipped in 18 points for the Dominicans. While Gina Mambru and Yonkaira Peña registered 16 and 15, respectively.

In the bronze medal match, Puerto Rico outplayed Canada, 23-25, 25-19, 25-20, 25-17.

Karina Ocacio and Aurea Cruz collected 17 points apiece for the Boricuas.

Canadian Tabitha Love and Lucille Charuk scored 14 and eight markers.


Most Valuable Player Nicole Fawcett (USA)

Best Outside Hitters Andrea Rangel (MEX) and Yonkaira Peña (DOM)

Best Middle Blockers Lucille Charuk (CAN) and Lynda Morales (PUR)

Best Opposite Spiker Heidy Rodriguez (CUB)

Best Setter Niverka Marte (DOM)

Best Libero Brenda Castillo (DOM)

Best Scorer Andrea Rangel (MEX)

Best Server Evelyn Sibaja (CRC)

Best Digger Brenda Castillo (DOM)

Best Receiver Kayla Banwarth (USA)


Gold USA

Silver Domincan Republic

Bronze Puerto Rico

4th Canada

5th-8th Cuba, Mexico, Trinidad and Tobago, Costa Rica